Sunday, October 5, 2008

The Positive Effects Of the Seven Chakras

By Jonathan Benjem

Chakras are the focal points of the body where life force energy is generated. Chakra means wheel; and it refers to the spinning sphere of life energy that term represents.

There are six Chakras which are located along the spine and a seventh one above these, removed from the physical element of your body.

We think of these Chakras as being composed of energy; but it is very important to realize that the Chakras are closely related to and have influence over your physical body.

Having your Chakras in the proper alignment will also keep your physical, mental and spiritual health in good condition.


The Muladhara is the Chakra of your lower body. This is also known as the root or base Chakra. This Chakra relates to your survival and other instincts. Muladhara has to do with the potentiality of human life. This Chakra is located in the perineal region, near the base of the spine.

This is the Chakra believed to be influential on the adrenal glands, producing the fight or flight response and other primal behaviors.


The Swadhisthana is the reproductive Chakra and corresponds to the genitals. Also known as the sacral Chakra, this is the Chakra which controls your sexuality and the creative impulse.

This Chakra also governs the production of sex hormones and plays a role in producing mood swings. This Chakra is symbolized by a six petal lotus.


The Manipura is the navel. It is considered to be the solar plexus chakra. This chakra deals with the transitions that are found between base emotions and complex emotions. The chakra itself is in charge of base emotions and complex emotions, and dictates the way that they flow into each other. It deals with the flow of energy, the flow of digestion, and can be compared to the way that the pancreas functions in the body.

This Chakra is responsible for energy flow and digestion - it governs the conversion of food into energy.This Chakra is symbolized by a ten petal lotus.


The Anahata is the heart. This Chakra is responsible for love and other complex emotions, as well as your sense of equilibrium and well being overall. This Chakra corresponds to the thymus gland (located in the chest) and the immune system in the physical body.

This chakra is symbolized by a twelve petal lotus. The love and the compassion are dictated by this chakra.


The Vishudda is the throat. This Chakra is responsible for your faculties of communication. This Chakra corresponds to the thyroid gland in the physical body. This Chakra is symbolized by a sixteen petal lotus.

The Vishudda also governs the process of growth.


The Anja is the eyebrow or the forehead. It is also considered to be the third eye. This chakra is in charge of being a model of its own envisioning. This is the chakra of time, light, and of awareness.

This Chakra is also in charge of the sleep cycle. The symbol of this Chakra is a two petal lotus.


Symbolized by a one thousand petal lotus, the Sahasrara is the seventh and final chakra. It is the chakra of consciousness. It communicates with the rest of the body in the same manner that the pituitary gland does. The Sahsrara is connected to all of the body systems, and is the key player in consciousness. - 14682

About the Author:

No comments: